Medical Regulators 

Around the World

Continued Competency Working Group

IAMRA has as one of its strategic goals, to 'support and encourage members to develop mechanisms for assuring the continued competence of doctors', believing that a key role of medical regulation is to make sure that doctors are competent and keep up to date throughout their careers.

The Continued Competency Working Group was established to further this goal through various initiatives (see full Charge).

Members of the 2018-2020 Continued Competency Working Group: 

Ms. Susan Goldsmith, Chair 

Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Chief Executive

General Medical Council (U.K.)

Dr. Stephen Adelstein 


New South Wales Board of the Medical Board of Australia

Ms. Clare Barton

Assistant Director, Registration and Revalidation Directorate

General Medical Council (U.K.)

Ms. Jantze Cotter

Director of Professional Competence and Research

Medical Council of Ireland

Mr. David Dunbar 


Medical Council of New Zealand

Former President of the International Physician Assessment Coalition (IPAC)

Prof. Chak-sing Lau


Hong Kong Academy of Medicine

Ms. Fleur-Ange Lefebvre

Executive Director and CEO

Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada

Dr. Graham McMahon  

President and CEO

Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (U.S.)

Dr. Dawn Morton-Rias

President and CEO

National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (U.S.)

Dr. Elly Nyaim Opot  

Board Member

Kenya Medical Practitioners and Dentists Board

Mrs. Joan Simeon 

Chief Executive Officer

Medical Council of New Zealand      

Ms. Amy Smith  

Director of CPD Accreditation

American Academy of Family Physicians (U.S.)

Mr. Timothy Terranova

Assistant Executive Director

Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine (U.S.)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software