Medical Regulators 

Around the World

Regulatory Best Practices Working Group

IAMRA has as one of its strategic goals, to 'support and encourage members to provide, in the interest of the public, regulatory practices and systems that strive for best practice and contribute to the provision of safe and effective health care by the medical profession.

The Regulatory Best Practices Working Group was established to further this goal through various initiatives (see full Charge).

Members of the 2020-2021 Regulatory Best Practices Working Group: 

Mrs. Joan Simeon, Chair

Chief Executive Officer

Medical Council of New Zealand   

Dr. Stephen Adelstein 


New South Wales Board of the Medical Board of Australia

Ms. Jantze Cotter

Director of Professional Competence and Research

Medical Council of Ireland

Mr. Blake Dobson

Assistant Director for Revalidation

General Medical Council (U.K.)

Mr. David Dunbar 


Medical Council of New Zealand

Former President of the International Physician Assessment Coalition (IPAC)

Prof. Chak-sing Lau


Hong Kong Academy of Medicine

Ms. Fleur-Ange Lefebvre

Executive Director and CEO

Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada

Dr. Graham McMahon  

President and CEO

Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (U.S.)

Dr. Dawn Morton-Rias

President and CEO

National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (U.S.)

Dr. Elly Nyaim Opot  

Board Member

Kenya Medical Practitioners and Dentists Council


Ms. Amy Smith  

Director of CPD Accreditation

American Academy of Family Physicians (U.S.)

Mr. Timothy Terranova

Assistant Executive Director

Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine (U.S.)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software